Built in 1845, the Old Custom House stands at the heart of the Ipswich Waterfont, and now houses the offices of Ipswich Port Authority.
Whilst the Waterfront area has recently undergone a massive regeneration with restaurants, a hotel, marina and new homes, the Old Custom House still stands as a reminder of the historic significance of the River Orwell to Ipswich history.
The classical style of the building is particularly impressive from the dockside, with its four columned porticos bearing the Ipswich Coat-of-Arms of lion rampant and the stern of three ships supported by sea-horses, a reminder of the town’s maritime heritage. Architectural features include a striking red and cream brick design and a raised four-column portico displaying the Ipswich Coat of Arms. The building is Grade II listed