norfolk mystery

NORFOLK MYSTERY

The Norfolk Mystery is the first in Ian Sansom’s County Guides series, a project where Sansom attempts to write a crime novel for every county in the UK.

The Norfolk Mystery is set in 1937 and sees disillusioned Spanish Civil War veteran Stephen Sefton stony broke. So when he sees a mysterious advertisement for a job where ‘intelligence is essential’, he applies. Thus begins Sefton’s association with Professor Swanton Morley, an omnivorous intellect. Morley’s latest project is a history of traditional England, with a guide to every county.

They start in Norfolk, but when the vicar of Blakeney is found hanging from his church’s bellrope, Morley and Sefton find themselves drawn into a rather more fiendish plot. Did the Reverend really take his own life, or was it – murder?

Seen as a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, this novel explores the beautiful Norfolk as a landscape for intrigue and mystery (as we discussed in a previous Culture365 post).

As we explored a few weeks ago, Norfolk is full of fantastic bookshops, where better than to buy your own copy of The Norfolk Mystery.

Spend a while in glorious Norfolk and avoid the suspense and mystery of a trip by exploring the county with Visit Norfolk.