Abbot’s Hall is a Queen Anne House in the grounds of the Museum of East Anglian Life.
Now over 300 years old, the house and its inhabitants have long played an important part in Stowmarket’s history.
The name ‘Abbot’s Hall’ originated in the 12th century when King Henry II granted the manor of Stowmarket to the Abbey of St Osyth in Essex. Following the Abbey’s dissolution in 1539, a variety of families went on to own the estate.
Today, the Hall houses a series of exhibitions as part of the Museum of East Anglian Life. Find out what’s on at the moment at the MEAL website.
Plan a trip to Stowmarket, and explore the rest of West Suffolk with Visit Suffolk.